Dessert Nachos… Say What?!

Did I just say Dessert Nachos? Indeed! There’s this awesome little restaurant my friends and I used to go to all the time called Tres Pesos. I know the name doesn’t sound German, but that’s where it was, I promise. It’s this awesome Mexican restaurant on a corner of Niederwerrner Strasse. They have some amazing food, but what my friends and I loved the most, was making a quick lunch stop on a hot summer day for their dessert nachos. This place made their own tortilla chips which were super large, dusted in cinnamon and sugar, topped with ice cream and drizzled with caramel sauce. It was A-mazing!

So, with the weather warming, I thought to myself, why not relive a little of that experience and bring some of my favorite German Mexican restaurant home to California. If that makes any sense. Hahaha. Here’s how I did it.

Start with my recipe for Sweet or Salty Tortilla Chips. Here’s a quick refresher:

  • Cut corn tortillas in quarters.
  • Fry in oil heated to 360˚ F.
  • Remove and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. You may want to use more cinnamon than sugar to bring out the sweetness for this dessert.

**Note** I don’t recommend making these chips days ahead of time. I’ve made these a couple days before and put them in an airtight container and they were slightly stale. Not horribly, though, so you may be able to get away with a day ahead of time. You will definitely be okay making them earlier in the day and storing them in a plastic bag.

So, that took all of, maybe, 10 minutes. When you’re ready to serve, layer your dessert just like nachos!

Use whatever ice cream and toppings you like. Here, I used some Strawberry Buttermilk Sherbet I’d been experimenting with.

Lay your chips on the bottom, as many as you like, depending on how many you’re serving. Top with your ice cream. It looks wonderful when it’s filled up with a variety of ice creams, but there are only two of us. You can make it a sundae by crumbling brownies over the chips, then topping with ice cream, or using fruit pieces like sliced bananas, kiwi, strawberries, mango, pineapple, etc, to top your ice cream. Then, you don’t feel so bad about eating it.

In this case, simple was the best, especially right after a big dinner.

I chose to keep it simple by drizzling some of my homemade caramel sauce around and over the top. There’s nothing better than these sweet and crunchy tortilla chips covered in caramel sauce. Oddly enough, I would feel horrible just eating these chips with caramel. Somehow the ice cream makes it all seem better.

I love making these chips alone as a snack, but I love them even more as a simple, but elegant dessert when I have company. Who doesn’t love ice cream, and this is a great way to present it, and offer your guests something a little special. Enjoy!

 

 

If you like this and other recipes from my blog, be sure to vote for me in the zuuzs Grand Spring Recipe Challenge!

 

 

Don’t forget to also use these tasty treats to dress up your desserts! A simple Vanilla Dream Ice Cream, with or without my Edible Coffee Chocolate Bowl, drizzled with a sauce of your choosing will turn your regular dessert from ordinary to OMG THIS IS FABULOUS!

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

