Buttery Carrot Mashed Potatoes

Okay, does anything say comfort food like mashed potatoes? Not for me! I love potatoes, but mashed potatoes are definitely my favorite. There’s nothing better than the creamy, buttery smoothness of a good mash. They are the perfect accompaniment to almost any meal, be it chicken, fish, meat or veg and can be dressed with any sauce.

We’re all familiar with the various herb mash concoctions, garlic and rosemary, brown butter and sage, cheddar and chive, mushroom and onion, the list goes on and on and I have tried them all. But what about the other veggie combos? Mashing your potatoes with other veggies is all the rave, and I am on the rave train! Now, I’ve been mixing my peas and corn with my mashed potatoes since I was a kid. It was pretty much the only way I would eat my veggies. Brussel sprouts… yuck! Brussel sprouts with mashed potatoes… edible! Hahaha. So, I started with a potato and parsnip mash-up. This was the first time I’d ever had parsnips, and the first time I attempted a mash like this. I chopped up the parsnips and potatoes in similar cubes and boiled them together. The floral note in the parsnips was so unexpected, and added a new depth to my potatoes. I made these about 5 more times before my husband finally requested something else. But what?

Well, I see lots of cooking shows where they make a cauliflower and potato mash and everyone’s loving it. I tried it. Delectable… aka, the only way I can get my hubby to eat cauliflower. Awesome, I’ve now used two different veggies in my potatoes. What’s next? Enter: Anne Burrell. I was watching “Worst Cooks in America” and saw a carrot potato mash Chef Burrell made. The problem, they didn’t show how to make it, and I couldn’t find her recipe anywhere online. Not to worry. I’m sure I can figure this out. And I did! Here’s how:

Ingredients:

  • Potatoes, peeled and cubed (1 per person)
  • Carrots, peeled and cubed (1 per person)
  • Buttermilk (or cream or milk as you like)
  • Butter
  • Salt

Make sure your carrots and potatoes are cut into equal sized cubes. Put in a pot of salted water and turn on high to boil. Boil until both potatoes and carrots are fork tender. Be sure to use a fork, not a knife.

Once fork tender, strain out the water and add butter before mashing your potatoes as usual. I like using my food pro, for super creamy potatoes, but you can use a stand mixer, hand blender, hand masher, whatever works for you. Add enough buttermilk (or cream or milk) to make your potatoes creamy and smooth, but not runny or soupy. Add slowly and in small amounts at a time. If you add too much liquid, return to your pot and heat over med-low, stirring constantly.

Now, enjoy your potatoes! They are the perfect compliment to any main. Also, I’ve eaten them for dinner when I’m flying solo. They’re just that good!

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You are making too many yummy dishes too far away from me! I want some!

  2. Cauliflower and bacon? That always works at our house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

